Home  >  Corporate  >  Directors


Richard O’Brien, B.A., JD, Chairman


Mr. O’Brien brings more than 30 years of operational and financial experience in the natural resources, energy and power sectors. Mr. O’Brien has served as President and CEO of Newmont Mining Corporation and President and CEO of Boart Longyear Limited. During his career, Mr. O’Brien has also served as a CFO at Newmont, prior to which his executive roles included Executive Vice President and CFO of U.S. energy services company AGL Resources, and Chief Operating Officer and CFO at PacifiCorp, a western U.S. utilities company. Mr. O’Brien holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from the University of Chicago and a Juris Doctorate degree from Lewis and Clark Law School. Mr. O’Brien currently serves on the Boards of Xcel Energy Inc. and Vulcan Materials Company.

Jeane Hull, B.Sc., MBA, Director


Ms. Hull has over 35 years of operational leadership and engineering experience, most notably holding the positions of Chief Operating Officer for Rio Tinto plc at the Kennecott Utah Copper Mine and Executive Vice President and Chief Technical Officer of Peabody Energy Corporation. Ms. Hull has also held numerous management engineering and operations positions with Rio Tinto and affiliates. Prior to joining Rio Tinto she held positions with Mobil Mining and Minerals, and has additional engineering, environmental and regulatory affairs experience in the public and private sector. Currently Ms. Hull serves on the Boards of Epiroc AB and Interfor Corporation.

A Registered Professional Engineer, Ms. Hull holds a Bachelor of Science degree in civil engineering from South Dakota School of Mines and Technology and a Master of Business Administration degree from Nova Southeastern University in Florida. She is a member of the University of Wyoming School Of Energy Resources Council. She serves on the University Advisory Board for South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, and formerly served on the Industry Advisory Board for Missouri University of Science and Technology Mining Department and the Washington University Olin Business School Women’s Leadership Forum Steering Committee.

George Paspalas, Director


George Paspalas is the President and Chief Executive Officer of MAG Silver Corp. Formerly he was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Aurizon Mines; Chief Operating Officer, Silver Standard Resources Inc.; Executive Vice-President and Senior Vice President Projects - Technical Development, Placer Dome Inc.; and President and Chief Executive Officer of Placer Dome Africa. During his career, Mr. Paspalas has been responsible for constructing and operating complex open pit and underground mines in South Africa, Tanzania, Australia, South America and Canada. Mr. Paspalas earned a Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical) degree with Honours from the University of New South Wales in 1984.

Tom Peregoodoff , BSc., Director


Mr. Peregoodoff has over 30 years of resource industry experience, much of it in greenfield and brownfield exploration and resource development. Currently he is President, CEO and a Director of Apollo Silver Corp. Prior to this he was President and CEO of Peregrine Diamonds Ltd. where he led the company from the resource development phase through to the eventual sale to DeBeers Canada in 2018.

Prior to Peregrine Mr. Peregoodoff spent 18 years in several positions with the mining multinational BHP, culminating in his role as Vice President of Early Stage Exploration, with global responsibility for all early stage exploration across their commodity groups.

Mr. Peregoodoff holds a BSc. in Geophysics from the University of Calgary.

Jacques Perron, B.Sc., P.Eng., ing., President, Chief Executive Officer and Director


Mr. Perron’s career of more than 35 years in the global mining industry has included extensive technical and operational experience. Most recently, Mr. Perron was President, Chief Executive Officer and Director of Thompson Creek Metals Company Inc. until it was acquired by Centerra Gold Inc in 2016. He joined Thompson Creek as Chief Executive Officer in 2013 and took on the additional role of President in 2014. Among his previous senior executive positions in mining, he was President and CEO of St. Andrew Goldfields (2007-2013), Senior Vice President of Iamgold (2006-2007) and Senior Vice President Canada of Cambior Inc. (2004-2006). Mr. Perron has been a director of the Canadian Mineral Industry Education Foundation since 2007. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Mining Engineering from l'École Polytechnique de Montréal.

Maryse Saint-Laurent, LL.M., ICD,D, Director


Ms. Saint-Laurent has over 25 years of experience as a legal executive, corporate director and senior advisor in the energy, electricity and mining sectors. She has led several M&A and financing transactions and has a strong governance background. She possesses several years of experience in human resources, compensation and benefits/pension management.

Ms. Saint-Laurent most recently served as Vice President, Legal and Corporate Secretary of TransAlta Renewables Inc. and of TransAlta Corporation, a power generation company with domestic and international operations. Additionally, Ms. Saint-Laurent is a Corporate Director of TransAlta.

Ms. Saint-Laurent also serves as a director of the Alberta Securities Commission, Turquoise Hill Resources Ltd. and North American Construction Group Ltd. She holds a LLM from York University, Osgoode Hall Law School, and an LLB, BA and Certification in Human Resources from the University of Alberta.

David Smith, CPA, ICD.D, Director


David Smith is a Corporate Director who has had a career on both the finance and the supply sides of business within the mining sector, with extensive international exposure. He brings more than 30 years of financial and executive leadership experience to the Board. Mr. Smith served as the Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President of Finning International Inc. from 2009 to 2014. Prior to joining Finning, Mr. Smith served as Chief Financial Officer and a Vice President of Ballard Power Systems, Inc. from 2002 to 2009. Previously, he spent 16 years with Placer Dome Inc. in various senior positions and 4 years with PriceWaterhouseCoopers. Mr. Smith currently is a director of Hudbay Minerals Inc. and has previously served on other public mining company boards of directors, specifically Nevsun Resources Ltd., Dominion Diamond Corporation and Paramount Gold Nevada Corporation. He is a member of the Board of Governors of Collingwood School. He has also completed the Institute of Corporate Directors course, Directors Education Program (ICD.D).

Faheem Tejani, Director


Mr. Tejani is currently the President of the Mortgage Company of Canada, a privately-owned investment company that primarily invests in single family residential mortgages in the Greater Toronto Area, currently with assets under management of ~$300 million. Prior to joining Mortgage Company of Canada, Mr. Tejani spent 17 years at BMO Capital Markets, most recently as Managing Director, Equity Capital Markets. During his time at BMO Capital Markets he primarily focused on the Metals and Mining industry. Mr. Tejani is a Chartered Professional Accountant and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Western Ontario.